Your Carol

My daughter and I just finished watching Mickey’s Christmas Carol, and I couldn’t help but think of my blog’s theme. I spend a lot of time thinking about my past, and my conscience often joins me on those trips, but it might be cool if it were in the form of Jiminy Cricket one time. The giant ghost of Christmas present would be fun, too, but I’ll pass on the scary guy of the future.

Actually, I wonder where Jiminy would take me. What scene would play out that would explain why I am where and who I am today? And what is it about who I am today that will determine where I meet the ghost of a time yet to come.

Looking back, Scrooge plead, “Please Spirit! I can no longer bear these memories.” To which the ghost of Christmas past responded, “Remember Scrooge, you fashioned these memories yourself.” I have to give Scrooge credit for being honest with himself by remembering the mistakes he made. In the morning he was surprised that the spirits had given him another chance, but he knew just what he’d do with it.

In this time of reflection and resolutions, what will you remember about your past and how it relates to who you are today? If the spirits take you on a ride this Christmas Eve, will they give you another chance tomorrow? What will you do with it?

5 thoughts on “Your Carol

  1. roughwighting December 27, 2023 / 10:38 am

    I like to live with no regrets. I’m actually quite happy with my past and try not to worry about the future. Happy new year! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Moumita Sarkar December 30, 2023 / 10:01 am

    Fascinating reflections! The parallels with Dickens’ tale are thought-provoking. What memories shape your present, and how will you shape your future? 🌟

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment